District Committees for Science and Technology (DCST)


During 1998 the Annual General body meeting of KSCST it was decided that KSCST’s activities should be decentralized. A structure was prepared for decentralized activities through District Committees for Science and Technology. DCST’s are working like an agency for demonstration and diffusion of technologies developed by different S & T organizations.

There are twelve district committees for Science and Technology which are working in the state. They are Dakshina Kannada, Gulbarga, Mysore, Belgaum, Bijapur, Hassan, Bidar, Uttara Kannada, Chitradurga, Dharwar, Bellary and Raichur.

For which the Deputy Commissioner is the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Zilla Panchayath is the Co-chairman. The DCST’s committee consists of around ten members from different fields of interest including Deputy Commissioner and Chief Executive Officer. The Hon. Secretary of the DCST will initiate the S & T activities in the district.

 The objectives of the District Committees for Science and Technology are:


DCST’s should largely concentrate on development of solutions to local specific problems through support from educational and research institutions.


Adoption of relevant technologies to suit local conditions.


Demonstration of such adopted technologies through demonstration centres.


Diffusion of technologies through joint projects with users of technologies.


Imparting of skills required to install, commission and maintain these technologies through training programmes.


Funding, either on a grant-in-aid basis or on a project basis, voluntary agencies for popularisation of science.


Preparation of action plans, dovetailed to the development plans of the district for effective use of science and technology.


Promotion of active co-operation among various government and private agencies and centres of education, research and training.


Survey of resources of the districts and development of plans for effective use of them.

Of the eleven DCST’s established, few DCST’s had already completed some S & T specific projects in the respective district and other DCST’s have initiated few specific projects. KSCST is planning to review the programmes of DCST’s to implement specific projects / programmes in districts.

Presently the Natural Resources Data Management System (NRDMS) Centres are taking the responsibility of each district Science and Technology Activities.


 || Home || Web mail || Ongoing Projects || Current Events || People || Contact Us || Sitemap ||
 || Link to IISc Website ||  Karnataka NRDMS || KSSDI Geoportal || Patent Information Centre ||
 || Rainwater Harvesting || Student Project Programme || Right to Information Act ||


This page was updated on : 20 October 2017 12:34 PM

  Copyright KSCST. All Rights Reserved